Governors of St. Wilfrid's


Governors are a group of people who are enthusiastic, committed, have an interest in education and have the heart of the school at their best interests.

These are our Governors. Please talk to them about your views on school and if you have any issues to discuss.

Our Governors are:

Mrs M Ryan - Chair of Governors

Mr R Baker - Headteacher

Mr M Conway - Vice-Chair of Governors

Mrs N Fernandez - Parent Governor

Mr K Doyle - Parent Governor

Mrs L Husted - Staff Governor

Mrs J McGlynn - Associate Member


Who can become a Governor?

Enthusiasm, commitment and an interest in education are the most important qualities. You don't need to have a family member attending a school or college to become a governor.

Being a Governor - what's involved?

As a school Governor, your duties will include:

  • setting the strategic direction, policies and objectives
  • approving the budget
  • reviewing progress against the budget and objectives
  • challenging and supporting senior staff
  • playing a part in appointing staff

The Governing Body in schools and colleges is made up of:

  • staff representatives
  • community governors, including parents or students
  • other local sponsors, like businesses

Governing Bodies make their decisions based on the advice of committees. Governing Bodies in schools and colleges are accountable for:

  • the use of public funds
  • the quality of education provided
  • the wider contribution to the community website, 23.04.12